Population crisis

Last night I heard Sir David Attenborough say that in his 90 year lifespan the human population has tripled. That sent a shiver down my spine.

When Nathan and I met we were so excited to finally meet someone who shared the same  views on the world. Having children was one of them. I’m yet to feel the maternal instinct kick in and with every passing day feel stronger and stronger in my decision not to have children. If anything for the selfish reason that I couldn’t cope with the worrying I would endure in loving something and letting it loose to the mercy of this planet. Ignorance really is bliss. The more I become addicted to researching both the environmental and societal state of this planet the more I feel having children is just not an option.

Although a very positive person, through my own personal research and discovery I am aware that the world has seen better days. I am also aware that the hope for some mass transformation on a large scale is near impossible and that all I can do is change myself and my lifestyle as best I can. I think the answer, for me, is not what I do but what I do not do. One of those things is to not have children.

I’m not sure if it is because I am focusing on it but it appears to becoming a much more popular topic of conversation. Chris Packham, Ben Fogle and conservationist’s alike are starting to point the finger on the booming population. The planet simply can not support our numbers, especially with out greed and consumption. We have already caused so much mass extinction of both species and environments. In our western, politically correct ways the topic of remaining childless for the benefit of the planet has been avoided. But now, like the mass consumption of meat, people with knowledge and power are starting to shout out about it. We seem shy of any topic that means we, as individuals, have to take responsibility. No longer can we say ‘it’s just the way it is’, ‘there is nothing you can do about it’ ‘you can’t change the world’. In a society riddled with human rights, will we respond to heed the blame and take responsibility?

‘Your children are not your children.

They are sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,

And they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You  may give them your love but not your thoughts. For they have their own thoughts

You may house their bodies but not their souls,

For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you can not visit,  not even in your dreams.

You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.

For  life goes not backward but tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.’ – Kahlil Gibran The Prophet

Leave a Reply

