A Vegan Diary: First Five Days

So its only been five days so its hard to know whether the changes I feel are due to my diet or other factors.

I certainly feel very bloated a lot of the time but this is starting to decrease and when I woke up this morning my tummy definitely felt flatter. My digestive system is a lot more active and I have had to increase my water intake to match my uptake in fibre.

I did a local 6k route yesterday morning and surprisingly beat my last time by around 3 minutes and I have to say I did feel lighter making the run easier and more enjoyable. However, its hard to say whether this is directly linked to only five days of diet change.

What have I been eating? 

DSC_1389

Breakfast: I have alternated between these two following some fresh melon and a handful of blueberries

  1. Organic rolled oats soaked overnight with chia seeds. I add cinnamon, sultanas, agave and desiccated coconut. This is so delicious and great for those who crave sweet, pudding like breakfasts
  2. Toasted rye bread with organic Whole earth peanut, flaxseed, pumpkin and sunflower seed butter. This provides my body with much needed Omega 3 & 6 that I’m not getting through fish

Lunch: I’m currently working in an office so I need a lunch that provides slow realising energy and brain food.

DSC_1433

  1. Superfood salad. I make a big batch containing organic wild and brown rice, raw brussel sprouts, watercress, spinach, chickpeas, seeds, avocado, tomatoes, bean sprouts and extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, chilli flakes and red wine vinegar
  2. Quinoa with mushrooms, onions and tomatoes along with a raw salad and avocado
  3. Left overs from the  night before such as sweet potato or veggie stew with watercress and avocado
  4. I sprinkle nuts and seed oils on my lunches

Dinner:

  1. Veggie packed ratatouille with mashed potatoes-I love this wholesome and comforting dish after a cold wet day
  2. Spicy mixed bean and lentil stew
  3. Sesame roasted pumpkin with brown rice and mushroom sauce
  4. I have a large serving of leafy greens and broccoli with all my dinners

Snacks:

I have an organic apple and banana everyday; one in the morning and one in the afternoon, both eaten with a few nuts such as cashews, walnuts and almonds.

 

One thing I will say with confidence is I have far from gone hungry, on the contrary I have struggled to eat everything I should in one day and often have to pass on my snacks and I put this down to the large water content of the food I’m eating. I have had to shrink my  portions as I go. But the change in digestive speed is something I also need to get used to!

To have those  sweet cravings covered I have prepped some vegan dark chocolate which I made with hazelnuts, almonds and lots of seeds.

For more pictures please see my Instagram account which I update daily

DSC_1314

One Comment Add yours

  1. This is amazing! Good for you 🙂 Everything you’ve been eating sounds delicious

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

