Banana Bread

Banana Bread

DSC_1109

Gluten and refined sugar free

Like losing one earing from every pair or never finding a matching pair of socks, I always seem to end up with black bananas. Despite not being bananas about bananas my kitchen feels cold and heartless without them piling over the wrack or the side of a bowl. I don’t get too excited about the taste or texture of this particular fruit but I eat them regularly not just for their potassium but also for the prebiotics that promote healthy bacteria. They are great alternative for sweetening things up and I often use them to make healthy pancakes too.

Since first making first finding a recipe to save my battered and bruised bananas I now always make sure I buy a few more than I know we can manage so at the end of the week I can guarantee there will be a hot, fresh banana bread emerging from the aga on a Sunday!

DSC_0959

 

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 organic free range eggs or half a cup of apple sauce to make vegan
  • 2 tbsp organic maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp apple, lemon or orange juice
  • 2 cups of spelt or gluten free flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk the eggs and mix together with the mashed bananas and juice to make a paste. Add the oil and honey and then fold in the flour, cinnamon and vanilla extract.

DSC_0925.JPG

You can then make it your own. I never make the same banana bread twice. The last one I made was for my mum who is low in iron and loves anything lemon so I used lemon juice, zest, poppy seeds, walnuts and topped with lots of pumpkin seeds. If you like things sweeter you could add dates. You could melt some organic dark chocolate and drizzle over the top? My favourite so far is blueberry and banana!

Fold mixture out into a loaf tin and bake for around 50 mins at 180/160 gas 4. I have an aga so I have taken those cooking times from other loaf recipes.

DSC_1116

Leave a Reply

